Montana June 7, 2022 election results (unofficial)


Unofficial results for the Tuesday, June 7, 2022 primary election in Montana are being counted.

Several statewide and local races are being decided, including for Montana’s new congressional districts.

Click here to see the latest results.

Western Congressional District Democrats

In Montana’s western congressional district, three candidates are arguing that they are the best choice to get the Democratic Party’s message across in the general election.

Cora Neumann, Monica Tranel and Tom Winter are all seeking the Democratic nomination in the 1st Congressional District, which covers much of western Montana, including the cities of Kalispell, Missoula, Butte and Bozeman.

Democratic Republicans of the Western Congressional District

Five Republicans will be on the primary ballot in Montana’s western congressional district, and four of them are based in Flathead. Much of the attention in the primary has been on Ryan Zinke, a former congressman from Montana and US Secretary of the Interior. He is challenged by orthopedic surgeon and former state senator Al Olszewski, pastor and small business owner Mary Todd, businessman Mitch Heuer, and government teacher and professor Matt Jette.

Eastern Congressional District Democrats

In the Democratic primary for the Eastern Montana congressional district, the candidates are human trafficking advocates Penny Ronning, progressive rookie Skylar Williams and an unchosen replacement for State Senator Mark Sweeney, who died in early May. . Sweeney’s death has upended the Democratic primary contest. He was the highest-funded Democratic candidate with one of the most track records, having served two terms in the state legislature.

Eastern Congressional District Republicans

Republican incumbent United States Representative Matt Rosendale is challenged by Republicans Kyle Austin, James Boyette and Charles Walking Child. Rosendale, who has a significant lead in fundraising, was elected Montana’s sole representative in 2020.

Supreme Court of Montana

Two seats on the Montana Supreme Court are up for re-election this year. Montana judges James Rice and Ingrid Gustafson are opposites in their races. Gustafson faces two opponents, PSC Chairman James Brown and Lewis and Clark District Court Judge Mike McMahon in his main contest. Rice is challenged by Billings attorney Bill D’Alton.

Montana Public Service Commission

Several hundred thousand Montanese will have the opportunity to choose their member of the state Public Service Commission (PSC), which approves rates and monitors quality of service for private electric and natural gas companies. The PSC also has jurisdiction over private water and sewer companies and landline telephone providers. The Board does not set tariffs for private household waste companies, but decides which ones can enter specific markets. Additionally, they oversee taxi services and ride-sharing companies.

The busiest race is in District 5. After a federal court redrawn the districts to bring their populations closer together, District 5 now consists of just four counties: Flathead, Lake, Lewis and Clark, and Teton. Four Republicans and two Democrats are seeking to represent the district, succeeding Republican Commissioner Brad Johnson who is being fired.

The Republican candidates are:

  • Annie Bukacek of Kalispell, internal medicine physician and former member of the Flathead Board of Health.
  • Dean Crabb of Marion, previously worked as a powerline worker in California.
  • Helena’s Joe Dooling is a farmer, rancher and business owner.
  • State Rep. Derek Skees of Kalispell has served on and led legislative committees that oversee the PSC.

The Democratic candidates are:

  • John Repke of Whitefish, a retired financial executive
  • Helena’s Kevin Hamm, owner of computer and internet services businesses.

The other district holding elections this year is District 1, which covers Great Falls and much of north-central and northeastern Montana. There, outgoing commissioner Randy Pinocci, R-Sun River, is running for another term. Browning’s K. Webb Galbreath is also a Republican primary candidate. There is no Democratic candidate in the race.


Comments are closed.